Skip to main content

Commission on Ministry

Advisory Commission to the Bishop in encouraging and enabling opportunities for ministry.


The Commission on Ministry (COM) exists in compliance with Title III, Canon 2 of the Canons and Constitutions as an advisory role to the bishop in the implementation of Title III. The primary responsibilities are the encouraging and enabling present and future opportunities for the ministry of all the baptized, in the design and oversight of recruitment, discernment, formation for ministry and assisting in assessing individuals’ readiness for ministry.

Our Subcommittees have been formed to cover these areas articulated in specific Canons under Title III. These four subcommittees are Discernment, Ordination Process, Licensed Ministry, and Clergy Continuing Education, Orientation and Mentoring. Membership in these subcommittees is not limited to members of the Commission. The chairs of the subcommittees will be ex-officio members of the Commission, if not already elected or appointed members.

Ordination Process

The ordination process in The Diocese of West Missouri consists of a series of stages that are mostly prescribed by the Title III canons of The Episcopal Church. The canon governing the ordination of deacons is Canon 6, while the canon governing the ordination of priests is Canon 8. The canons may be found here.

Individual Discernment

Discerner meets with spiritual director, sponsoring priest, and others for initial conversation. The Rector then agrees to form Congregational Discernment Committee (CDC).

Congregational Discernment

Discerner meets with CDC for approximately one year to discern call for further ministry. The CDC provide a recommendation to Vestry. The Rector and Vestry nominate the aspirant.

Interview with Bishop and Retreat with COM

  • Discerner meets with the Bishop and Commission on Ministry (COM)
  • COM and Bishop Approval

Diocesan Discernment Year

  • Discerner explores ministry opportunities in a new congregation for at least six months; meets with new CDC to refine focus on further ministry direction.
  • New CDC recommendation to COM

Next Steps Conference

  • Discerner meets with COM and Bishop.
  • COM recommendation to Bishop
    • Bishop approves postulancy
  • Formal seminary formation begins
  • The Bishop Kemper School For Ministry (BKSM)
    • For deacon Postulants, BKSM offers a two-year curriculum. Details of the curriculum are on the BKSM website.
    • Postulants for the priesthood may attend one of the listed seminaries, or BKSM. For Postulants who expect to remain in Missouri, Kansas or Nebraska, and who expect their priestly ministries to be either part-time or unpaid, BKSM might make sense as it is designed specifically for students who will remain in the diocese while continuing to work at secular employment. The BKSM curriculum for future priests consists of 30 courses taken over three years. Details of the curriculum are on the BKSM website.
    • Postulants for the priesthood who expect to work full-time for the church should plan to attend one of the listed seminaries and enroll in its Master of Divinity program.


  • Discerner continues with seminary education and formation.
  • Discerner applies for candidacy

Candidacy Interview

  • Discerner meets with COM and Bishop
  • COM recommendation to Bishop
  • Bishop approves candidacy


Discerner completes seminary and sits for canonical exams

Final Recommendation

  • COM recommendation to Bishop
  • Standing Committee consent
  • Bishop approves recommendation


  • Diaconal ordination
  • For those called to be a priest, priestly ordination at least six months later


Bob Maynard Profile

Mr. Robert Maynard


Anne Kyle Profile

The Rev. Anne Meredith Kyle

Co-chair, Vocations Missioner


  • Ms. Kathy Alexander
  • The Ven. Bruce Bower
  • The Rev. John Coil
  • The Rev. Timothy Coppinger
  • Mrs. Cosette Hardwick, Secretary
  • The Rev. Rita Kendagor
  • The Rev. Karen Mann
  • Mrs. Shirley McCarty
  • The Rev. Joe Pierjok
  • Mrs. Ann Rainey
  • The Rev. Rebecca Schubert
  • Ms. Meredith Seaton
  • Mrs. Paula Shepard
  • The Rev. Galen Snodgrass